Digital Threats to Democracy November Topic: Techlash

Monday, November 20th. Please note the time of this event per time zone:
5 p.m. EST // 4 p.m. CST // 3 p.m. MST // 2 p.m. PST // 1 p.m. AKST

Presented by League of Women Voters of Maine in partnership with the League of Women Voters of Alaska.

On Monday, November 20, we’ll be joined by former FCC Chair, Tom Wheeler, who’ll be talking about his new book, Techlash: Who Makes the Rules in the Digital Gilded Age. NOTE: that’s Monday, not our usual Wednesday.

Register now to enter a drawing for a free copy of the book! Four winners will be chosen from among the first ten people to register!
Tom Wheeler: Techlash
An accessible and visionary book that connects the experiences of the late 19th century’s industrial Gilded Age with its echoes in the 21st century digital Gilded Age.

Tom Wheeler is a visiting fellow in Governance Studies at The Brookings Institution. Wheeler is a businessman, author, and was Chairman of the Federal Communication Commission (FCC) . At the FCC he led the efforts that resulted in the adoption of Net Neutrality, privacy protections for consumers, and increased cybersecurity, among other policies. 

Prior to being appointed Chairman of the FCC by President Obama, Wheeler was Managing Director at Core Capital Partners, a venture capital firm investing in early stage Internet Protocol (IP)-based companies. He is CEO of the Shiloh Group, a strategy development and private investment company specializing in telecommunications services. He co-founded SmartBrief, the Internet’s largest curated information service for vertical markets. From 1976 to 1984 Wheeler was associated with the National Cable Television Association (NCTA) where he was President and CEO from 1979 to 1984. Following NCTA Wheeler was CEO of several high-tech companies, including the first company to offer high-speed delivery to home computers and the first digital video satellite service. From 1992 to 2004 Wheeler served as President and CEO of the Cellular Telecommunications & Internet Association (CTIA).

For more information: www.lwvme.org

September 13
6:00 pm — 7:00 pm (1h)

Zoom

Alaska LWV, Maine LWV

Skip to content